Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Prison Pen Pals/Death Row Marriages

Prison Pen Pals/Death Row Marriages

In April 1999, convicted murderer Justin Wiley Dickens was sitting on Texas' death row when he received a letter from a stranger in Canada: "Hello Justin! I have never written to an inmate before so if I babble please forgive me," it began.

The 22-year-old prisoner's new pen pal was Michelle Sauve, who lives more than 2,400 kilometres away in rural Lisle, Ont. Sauve, then 28, had come across Dickens' bio on a website and was moved by what she had read.

Seven years — and hundreds of letters later — they married. This spring will be their fifth anniversary.

"I love him dearly. He's grown so much as a man," she says.

Sauve is a member of an obscure clique of Canadians who have forged unique — some say questionable — bonds with some of America's most violent criminals through old-fashioned letter writing.

Some relationships are strictly platonic, initiated by staunch death-penalty foes who believe these inmates deserve some compassion. Other relationships have taken romantic turns.

Those seeking death-row prisoner pen pals typically start by scrolling through websites that offer personal pages for inmates to post their writing, artwork, photos and contact information.

Tracy Lamourie and Dave Parkinson, the Toronto-based co-founders of the Canadian Coalition Against the Death Penalty, started such a site more than a decade ago. Today, the site features web pages for hundreds of death-row inmates.

"As a result of our website . . . prisoners on death row throughout the states have found contacts, legal help, friendships and even the odd marriage or two," Lamourie said.

One death-row prisoner who signed up for the free service is serial killer Charles Ng, who was convicted in the late 1990s of the sex-torture killings of 11 people in California.

On his web page, Ng refers to his conviction as a "miscarriage of justice."